How Joycee Came Along

The weekend of my birthday I went up to Lansing to have lunch with my nieces and my sister in law. I’d decided in that prior few days that I was going to go for sure. Joycee, who is a 16 year old high school junior, said, “Hey, Aunt Carole, would you go again in ten years, so I could go too?” Thinking forward to my then 63 year old self, I said, “Sure, Mmmmmaybe….!”

The next day, my brother Jack and I were out walking and I mentioned my conversation with Joycee to him and he said, “There couldn’t be a better college prep exercise than this. She should go with you.”   I brought the idea back to her, and then to her parents, and we all agreed it was worthwhile to propose the idea to her school. They were enthusiastic.

So, we are on our way, April 14th to May 26th. She’ll complete as much work as she can in advance of the trip and do the rest upon our return.

When I was 15, I took a trip with my mom to New York City, just the two of us. In a household of 6 kids, those were rare occurrences. It was for her birthday and it was just for a weekend. But it something I think about often now because my mother died just two short years later. And while I’m not planning to die anytime soon, I recognize this opportunity as a rare gift.

Leave a Reply

